Cleveland Yacht Club F.W. Roberts Trophy 1946

The first race of each season sponsored by the Cleveland Yacht Club (CYC) is the F.W. Roberts Trophy Race, named after the late Commodore F.W. Roberts. The trophy was personally given to CYC by Commodore Roberts in 1930 and has become one of the Club’s most sought-after trophies to win. It is a night race, approximately ninety nautical miles long, beginning in Rocky River, rounding Kelley’s Island, and back to Rocky River. 

The sixteenth annual race for the Roberts Trophy, in 1946, was won by Commodore Don Heisner with a race time of 15 hours, 46 minutes, and 36 seconds. It is unknown who finished second, earning this award flag. The Roberts Trophy race continues today, last held on June 8th, 2023. Keep track of the F.W. Roberts Trophy race this summer by visiting the Cleveland Yacht Club website  

This exhibit is made possible by visitors like you.  Please consider making a donation to the National Museum of the Great Lakes to help us continue our important work of preserving and making know the history of the Great Lakes.