I-LYA Parsons Trophy 1941

The Parsons Trophy, named after former Cleveland Yacht Club Commodore Harry A. Parsons, is a memorial race, during the Inter-Lake Yachting Association’s annual regatta, still held today. In 1941, the race was financed through a subscription of no more than five dollars, paid by the members of I-LYA. The awards given to the race winner include the Parsons Trophy and a silk flag, as seen above. The winner that year was former ILYA Commodore Al Wakefield, the first year a Commodore came out victorious.

This exhibit is made possible by visitors like you.  Please consider making a donation to the National Museum of the Great Lakes to help us continue our important work of preserving and making know the history of the Great Lakes.